What’s a Red Pearl? And 9 Other Things to Know About C.K. Brooke’s Next Adventure

 

The Red Pearl is finally here! What’s the least you need to know? Let me fill you in…

1. In a nutshell, what’s the story-line?
Girl meets man, girl saves man’s life, man is…FURIOUS with her? The Red Pearl is an old-fashioned, action-packed love story about Antonia, a priestess-in-training who flees her temple only to get tangled up with Robin, a fiery adventurer on a harebrained treasure hunt.

2. Where does it take place?
Rob and Annie live in a fantasy land called Innía, on the continent of Otlantica. Readers of my Jordinia novels (The Duchess Quest & The Duchess Inheritance) might recognize a few references, pegging this story in the same universe as Jordinia.
3. What’s the era?
It takes place in a more modern era than my previous works. There are guns, for example, and an automobile prototype. Think turn of the 20th century.
4. Define the genre.

It’s a streamlined romance. But it’s also an adventure, in the vein of “Indiana Jones” and “Romancing the Stone.” Sub-genre-wise, it classifies as fantasy (although without supernatural/paranormal elements).

5. What’s the heat level of the romance?

Mostly mild…except for one chapter. Age seventeen and up, folks!

6. So, what exactly is the Red Pearl? 

It’s not a ship…or a Chinese restaurant…as some of my friends were wondering, LOL! It’s literally a pearl that’s red. You’ll learn in the book why it’s so valuable…and if it even truly exists. 😉

7. The Jordinia books oscillate between several characters’ points-of-view. Is Pearl set up the same way?

No. In line with producing a more mainstream romance, this novel only focuses on two alternating POVs: that of the heroine, and that of the hero.

8. What inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired to try my hand at more punctuated, traditional adventure-romance after reading my first paperback category romance novel and being perfectly delighted by it.

9. Is it part of a series?

No, it’s a stand-alone.

10. Where can I get it?

It’s now available in paperback and Kindle eBook format from Amazon and 48fourteen. The paperback is also available at Barnes & Noble. The NOOK and iTunes eBook editions will be available February 2016. Want to sample the first 3 chapters FREE? Start reading here!

THE RED PEARL by C.K. Brooke (November 12, 2015)

Full Book Description: Treasure lost…passion found? Antonia Korelli is on the run from her coven of priestesses. She never desired a life confined to the temple, relegated to chastity and service to the goddess, Azea. Instead, she longs for true love and adventure in the Kingdom of Elat.

Robin Watkins is a fiery dreamer on a mission of his own: to uncover the legendary lost Red Pearl. Only, he must first regain his treasure map, which was stolen by his former best mate and conniving ex-girlfriend.

When Antonia becomes unwittingly entangled with Rob, she’s more than dismayed to find herself stuck on his harebrained hunt. But somewhere amidst their bickering and banter, their plight for survival through desert and tropics, and the joint pursuit of impossible dreams, Antonia begins to realize that perhaps she might have found the unforgettable adventure – and romance – she was seeking.

Conventions Part 2: Dealer/Exhibitor Necessities

November 11, 2015

Part 3: How to be an awesome Panelist that conventions invite year after year!

November 11, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − 17 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.